Victims and Commemoration

The establishment act of the Federal Foundation for the Study of Communist Dictatorship in East Germany states, among other things, that the Foundation’s purpose includes contributing to and supporting the comprehensive investigation and reappraisal of the causes, history and impact of the dictatorship in the Soviet occupation zone in Germany and the GDR as well as keeping alive the memory of the injustice that was committed and the victims it left behind.

Keeping the memory of the victims of Communist dictatorship alive is among the Foundation’s primary tasks. Ever since its establishment, the Foundation therefore directs much of its efforts to commemorating the victims of the dictatorship in the Soviet occupation zone in Germany and the GDR along with their moral and material rehabilitation.

This is reflected by ongoing support for the associations organised in particular by former inmates of camps and prisons. Through its project funding, the Foundation not only ensures that these associations are able to continue their counselling and educational work, but also the continued existence of the Union of Victims Associations of Communist Tyranny (UOKG), an umbrella organisation engaging in lobbying work on the former’s behalf at a national and international level.

Another project funded (in this context) is the journal Der Stacheldraht (‘Barbed Wire’), which serves as a means of internal and public communication among the victims of Communist dictatorship in East Germany. Amendments to the Unlawful Pursuit Act (SED-UnBerG) as well as what is referred to as the ‘victim’s pension’ introduced in 2007 exemplify the results of joint lobbying and engagement by the Foundation and the Victims associations. Efforts for the moral rehabilitation of the victims of dictatorship include working against forgetting the past, which the Foundation pursues through comprehensive funding of exhibitions, memorial sites, publications, films and scientific studies in the sense of a cross-sectional task of the Foundation’s work.

More information (German only)

Memorials and Remembrance Culture

Markus Pieper
Head of Memorials and Remembrance Culture
Fon: +49 30-319895-318
Fax: +49 30-319895-210
E-Mail

CONTACT PERSON FOR VICTIMS OF POLITICAL PERSECUTION IN THE SOVIET OCCUPATION ZONE AND THE GDR

Ruth Gleinig, Ansprechpartnerin im Bereich „Opfer und Gedenken“

Ruth Gleinig
contact person ‘Victims and Commemoration’
Fon: +49 30-31 98 95 - 218
Fax: +49 30-31 98 95 - 210
E-Mail

Opfer und Gedenken

Im Errichtungsgesetz der Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung ist unter anderem festgehalten, dass es Zweck der Stiftung ist, Beiträge zur umfassenden Aufarbeitung von Ursachen, Geschichte und Folgen der Diktatur in der sowjetischen Besatzungszone in Deutschland und in der DDR zu leisten und zu unterstützen und die Erinnerung an das geschehene Unrecht und die Opfer wachzuhalten.

Die Erinnerung an die Opfer der kommunistischen Diktatur wach zu halten, zählt zu den zentralen Aufgaben der Bundestiftung Aufarbeitung. Dem Gedenken an die Opfer der Diktatur in SBZ und DDR sowie deren moralische und materielle Rehabilitation widmet die Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung seit ihrer Gründung daher besondere Aufmerksamkeit.

Dies spiegelt sich in der kontinuierlichen Förderung der Vereinigungen wider, in denen sich insbesondere Häftlinge von Lagern und Gefängnissen zusammengeschlossen haben. Die Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung gewährleistet mit ihrer Projektförderung nicht nur deren Betreuungs- und Bildungsarbeit, sondern auch den Fortbestand der Union der Opferverbände kommunistischer Gewaltherrschaft (UOKG) als deren Dachverband, der auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene Lobbyarbeit leistet.

Gefördert wurde und wird auch die Zeitschrift "Der Stacheldraht", die den Opfern der SED-Diktatur zur Selbstverständigung dient. Novellierungen der Unrechtsbereinigungsgesetze sowie die 2007 eingeführte, so genannte Opferrente gingen auf die gemeinsame Beratungstätigkeit und das Engagement der Bundesstiftung und der Opferverbände zurück. Zur moralischen Rehabilitation der Diktaturopfer zählt die Arbeit wider das Vergessen, die von der Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung durch die umfangreiche Förderung von Ausstellungen, Gedenkstättenarbeit, Publikationen, Filmen und wissenschaftlicher Forschungsarbeiten als Querschnittsaufgabe der gesamten Stiftungstätigkeit betrieben wird.